Bird Strike Committee USA is a volunteer organization directed by a Steering Committee consisting of members from representative organizations, including the Federal Aviation Administration, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Department of Defense, the private sector, aviation industry/airlines and airports.

The Steering Committee

The Executive Committee. Comprised of Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Immediate Past-Chair.

Name/Position Organization Sector Rep.
Sarah Brammell, Chair Environmental Resource Solutions Private Sector Services
John Weller, Vice Chair Federal Aviation Administration FAA
Mike Begier, Immediate Past USDA, APHIS, Wildlife Services USDA WS
The Steering Committee. Comprised of elected members from representative oraganizations.
Chris Demers Pratt & Whitney Aircraft Aerospace Industry
Open Open Aerospace Industry
Open Open Aerospace Industry
Steve Jangelis Air Line Pilots Association Airlines
Open Open Airlines
Open Open Airlines
Nick Atwell Port of Portland Airport Airports
Johnny Metcalf Orlando International Airports
John Ostrom Minneapolis/St. Paul Intl. Airport Airports
Jay Higgins U.S. Navy DOD
Dan Sulllivan USAF BASH Team DOD
Dave Paulsgrove DoD DOD
Mike Stephens Federal Aviation Administration FAA
Open Open FAA
Open Open FAA
Gary Cooke NBAA General
Carla Dove Smithsonian Institution General
Open Open General
Open Open Private Sector Servcies
Barthel Joseph Reed-Joseph, Inc. Private Sector Services
Rick Jones Mead & Hunt Private Sector Services
Open USDA, APHIS, Wildlife Services USDA WS
John McConnell USDA, APHIS, Wildlife Services USDA WS
Open Open USDA WS
Non-Voting Appointed Steering Committee Members
Phyllis Miller (Secretary) USDA, APHIS, Wildlife Services N/A
Emeritus Members. Nominated, merit-based elected appointments.
Gene LeBoeuf FAA/USAF ret. N/A
Ron Merritt DeTect, Inc. N/A
Russell DeFusco Bash, Inc. N/A
Robert Dogan USAF N/A
Richard Dolbeer Past Chair N/A
Standing Committee Chairs. Appointed non-voting members.
Cathy Boyles DFW International Airport Communications
Amy Reed Environmental Resource Solutions Membership
Steve Osmek Seattle-Tacoma Operations & Policy
Roger Nicholson The Boeing Company Research & Development
John Ostrom Minneapolis/St. Paul Intl. Airport Conference
Connect With Us

Join BSC

BSC Newsletter